Country Names Starting With A and their Flags

To date, there are 11 country names that start with A. In this blog post, let’s explore those countries along with their flags!

Table of Contents:

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Albania
  3. Algeria
  4. Andorra
  5. Angola
  6. Antigua and Barbuda
  7. Argentina
  8. Armenia
  9. Australia
  10. Austria
  11. Azerbaijan


Officially the Islamic Emirate of Afghanistan, is a landlocked country located at the crossroads of Central Asia and South Asia. It spans up to 652,860 km² and its capital is Kabul.


A small country located on Southeastern Europe’s Balkar Peninsula, with Adriatic and Ionian coastlines, its interior is crossed by the Albanian Alps. It has a population of 2.84 lakhs (as of 2020) and its capital is Tirana.


It is a North African country with a Saharan desert interior and a Mediterranean coastline. It has the legacy of many empires. Its capital is Algiers and its population is 4.39 crores (as of 2020).


Situated between France and Spain in the Pyrenees mountains, it’s known for its tax-haven status and ski resorts. Its capital is Andorra la Vella and it spans up to 468 km².


A country with tropical Atlantic beaches, a labyrinthine system of rivers and Sub-Saharan desert that extends across the border into Namibia, its colonial history is reflected in its Portuguese influenced cuisine and its landmarks. Its capital is Luanda and has a population of 3.29 crores(as of 2020).

Antigua and Barbuda:

It is an independent Commonwealth country with two namesake islands and a few smaller ones. It is known for resorts, rainforests and reef-lined beaches. Its capital is Saint John’s and has a population of 97,928 people (as of 2020).


Officially the Argentine Republic, it covers an area of 2,780,400 km², making it the largest Spanish-speaking nation in the world by area. Its capital is Buenos Aires and has a population of 4.54 crores (as of 2020.)


A nation and former Soviet Republic, it is located in the mountainous region between Asia and Europe. Its capital is Yerevan and its population is about 29.6 lakhs (as of 2020).


It is a sovereign transcontinental country officially the Commonwealth of Australia. Its capital is Canberra and it has a population of 2.57 crores (as of 2020.)


It is a country in the southern part of Central Europe, officially the Republic of Austria. It is a federation of nine states. Its capital is Vienna.


A country bounded by the Caspian Sea and the Caucasus Mountains, it is a nation and former Soviet Republic. Its capital is Baku.

Video on Country Names starting with “A” with their Flags-

Subscribe to our channel for more educational videos!

Do you like this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 5 / 5. Vote count: 2

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Share This With Others:

Related Posts

2 thoughts on “Country Names Starting With A and their Flags

  1. I was pretty pleased to discover this great site. I need to to thank you for your time for this particularly fantastic read!! I definitely appreciated every part of it and I have you book marked to see new stuff on your blog.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.